10 Twitter Etiquette Tips

Image

I’m not a Twitter pro by any means.  I typically only use it to follow specific meetings and to find out why the helicopters are overhead ahead of the official news sites.

But I do have a few tips for users that aren’t familiar.

1.  Make your messages as short and to the point as possible.  Keep in mind that people may want to add a comment to your message when they re-tweet.

2.  If you’re responding to a particular tweet, but want the response to be public, put a “.” (dot) in front of the response so that it doesn’t just go to the person you are responding to.  Here’s an example:

.@LostChalkKitty thanks for the update about The-Big-Draw.com! #DrawnInChalk

Without the dot at the beginning it just goes to @LostChalkKitty – not everyone in my Twitterfeed.

3.  When you’re retweeting, use RT at the beginning of your Tweet.  Here’s an example:

RT @LostChalkKitty Come see me at The-Big-Draw.com chalk art festival in Pleasanton  on Saturday, 5/11. #DrawnInChalk

4.  Hashtags.  Don’t go crazy, but do be consistent if you’re promoting an event, like #DrawnInChalk.  From Twitter (either online or the app), you can search for a specific hashtag and see all the posts mentioning what you are looking for.  So when I want to figure out why the helicopters are flying overhead, I might search on #Oakland and see what the most recent posts are mentioning.  Maybe you want to follow the latest A’s game or RocketSpace meeting/event.

5.  If you want to let others know about another Twitter accounts worth following, use FF at the beginning of the post.  For example:

FF @LostChalkKitty @CSUImpressions

6.  Don’t just post Twitter addresses.  I’ve seen it lately and I don’t get why.  (I admit, I might have missed that memo.)

7.  Shorten URL’s using Bit.ly or TinyURL.

8.  If you comment on a post you are retweeting with a comment, try to make the comment obvious.  Here’s an example:

RT @LostChalkKitty Like me on Facebook! http://tinyurl.com/bvdrevw // I’m going!!

9.  For personal pages, I recommend restricting access to keep the spammers out and those wacky stalkers.

10.  If something isn’t safe for work, put “NSFW” in your Tweet.

Go forth and Tweet!

About Joanna

CEO of new clean tech start-up, BlueMorph, working to take chemicals out of the sanitizing process in the wine industry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment